Somerville College Boat Club

Welcome to Somerville College Boat Club. Founded in 1921 when Somerville was still an all women’s college, SCBC has a proud tradition of inclusivity and drive.

W1 Torpids 2015

With the motto ‘Smash and Dominate’, the Club prides itself on being both competitive and fun. SCBC has a long history of supplying rowers to the Oxford Women’s Blues, even as most of our crews are made up of talented, hard-working novices. Oxford is the best time in your life to learn to row; never again will it be so easy or so cheap to do so! So whether you have been rowing before you could walk or arrived at Somerville not knowing your rigger from your rudder, join the Boat Club and a team of new friends!

If you are an alumnus/a, welcome back! We are always happy to see an old face at SCBC at events like Summer Eights. Please check our Alumni & Friends of SCBC page for more on what’s been happening and how to get involved.